This site uses cookies to improve the availability of services in line with your preferences.
By closing this banner, scrolling through this page or clicking any of its elements you consent to the use of cookies.

ph: 39 011 568 39 62 | email: | timetables | contacts | instagram   facebook

Our History

The pasticceria Pfatisch was founded in 1915 by the famous Bavarian master chef, Gustavo Pfatisch, who was born in Fossano 1887 and, soon after birth, came to live in Turin.

In 1921 the business moved to its current location on Via Sacchi. As site for his business, the founder chose the splendid Art Nouveau edifice, with its original ceilings and ornately decorated stairways, designed in 1903 by renowned architect, Pietro Fenoglio.

In 1926, the shop and the façade were doubled in size by tearing down an internal foundation wall, which made it necessary to build two pillars to support the vault.

The shop was built in the austere style inspired by Art Deco that was all the rage in that era. The façade is made of solid Italian walnut with inlaid onyx and a signboard with brass lettering. The foundation is of alp-green marble.

The original interior is intact, with its solid walnut cabinets, mirrors, glass counter-tops, benches covered with mottled marble inlaid with walnut root. There are two Murano chandeliers from the early 20th century as well as showcases set in givre’ glass.

The furnishings came from the Dosio Company, while the marbles were procured by the Catella brothers

Visit the gallery of our premises by clicking on the photos


In the basement, the founder established a factory for the complete production of chocolate, starting with the cocoa bean, which was toasted with charcoal. The machines, from LEHMAN and BUEHLER, were of the best quality that existed at the time: one to roast, one of late 19th century wood to break and separate the cocoa, a granite grinder-mixer, a five-cylinder refiner, and four flat troughs where, after 72 hours of processing, the chocolate would come out smooth and perfectly blended, ready for packaging.

The antique laboratory is now a perfect museum of chocolate from the beginning of the last century. Production continues as it once did: with Gianduiotti bars, spreads and pralines.

In 1934 the management passed to Carlo Ferraris, already a member of Gustavo Pfatisch, and it has belonged to the same family ever since. Once damages from bombing in World War II had been repaired, the business again began to expand. New cakes were produced, such as the famous Festivo, a chocolate meringue cake chosen to be the symbol of the pasticceria. In the 1950’s, savory pastries were launched, which today boasts eighty different types of fresh salamis and famous canapés.

The chestnuts of Val di Susa—or more preciselyl, of Villarocchiardo—are still prepared, peeled by hand after long hours of boiling and subjected to eight days of continuous candying to achieve a completely handmade product.

The pasticceria has been declared a historical landmark like many other illustrious names that enrich the city of Turin. It represents and almost unique example of a place that has remained intact since its foundation and has been visited by such personalities as the princes and princesses of Savoia, the Duke of Aosta, the Countess of Calvi di Bergolo, the Countess of Mirafiori, Mario Soldati, Indro Montanelli, Norberto Bobbio and many others.

In recent year, the shop and laboratory have been featured in scenes of the TV series: “Il grandeTorino”, filmed with Michele Placido and Beppe Fiorello; “Enrico Mattei”, directed by Giorgio Capitani; “Luisa Spagnoli”, played by Luisa Ranieri and directed by Lodovico Gasparini, who also directed—again on the premises of Pfastisch—an episode of the series “Provaci ancora Prof 7” with Veronica Pivetti, Enzo Decaro and Paolo Conticini.

esterno negozio con personale OLD

esterno negozio con personale OGGI


Pfatisch G. Pasticceria Confetteria - Historical place of Italy - Via Sacchi 42 - 10128 Turin - Ph. 011 5683962 - PIVA 11696200010